Troop Management Software and Web Hosting for Scouts BSA User Guide
 
search 
 

I tried to log on several times.   I finally remembered my password and it still won't let me log on.   Why not?

The site will temporarily lock out your IP address after a certain number of unsuccessful logins.   This prevents hackers from writing a program to find a valid User ID and Password by trying lots of combinations.

Please wait a couple of hours and try again.


A number of us were trying to use the site during our weekly meeting, but now no one can log on.  What happened?

If you were all using the wi-fi network at your meeting place, you were all sharing the same external IP address.

So if some of your members had trouble entering their passwords correctly, this could cause everyone on that wi-fi network to be locked out, as described above.  Fortunately, those members who succeeded in logging on will still continue to be able to use the site.

We recommend that you caution your troop members not to attempt a second log on if their first attempt fails.  Instead, they should wait until everyone else has logged on successfully before trying again.


Will the site automatically log me off if I'm not active for a period of time?

No.  For your convenience, you will stay logged on until you close your browser or log off.

If you check the "Remember me at this computer" box when you log on, it will keep you logged on even after you restart your computer.

For this reason, you should always log off when accessing your web site from a shared or public computer.


Can I create a guest account that has very limited access?

Yes.  You can create a User ID that is only given the role of "Guest".  This User ID should not be linked to a Membership record.

A guest user will be able to view the calendar and photo gallery.  They will not be able to send e-mail or sign up for events.


The default security settings for scouts and adults allow them to access some functions that we do not want them to have.  Can this be changed?

Yes.  You can change the security for any user role using the Configure User Roles function.

To modify the security settings for the Scout user role:

  • Select Configure User Roles from the Security Configuration submenu on the Administration menu.
  • Click the Assign Tasks button next to the Scout user role.  This will bring up the detail page for this user role.
  • Deselect the "_Scout" task by clearing the checkbox in front of that task.  This will remove the default settings for this role.
  • Select the "My Stuff" and "My Stuff - Scout" tasks by clicking the checkbox in front of each of these tasks.
  • Select the other tasks that you want all scouts to be able to use.
  • Click Save & Exit to save your work.

To modify the security settings for the Adult user role:

  • Select Configure User Roles from the Security Configuration submenu on the Administration menu.
  • Click the Assign Tasks button next to the Adult user role.  This will bring up the detail page for this user role.
  • Deselect the "_Adult" task by clearing the checkbox in front of that task.  This will remove the default settings for this role.
  • Select the "My Stuff" and "My Stuff - Adult" tasks by clicking the checkbox in front of each of these tasks.
  • Select the other tasks that you want all adults to be able to use.
  • Click Save & Exit to save your work.